Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11)

In line with current UK practice, and in common with most ‘British-style’ schools around the world, the British Overseas School offers a programme of GCSE and IGCSE courses to our Year 10 and 11 students. This contrasts sharply with most other schools in Karachi, which remain wedded to the O Level system that was abolished in the UK in 1988.

The BOS follows the GCSE and IGCSE syllabuses of the Edxcel examination board. Thus, some subjects have an element of internal assessment as well as external examination. This option is available to us as we are one of the few schools in Pakistan to hold Overseas Centre status. This means that we administer Edexcel examinations ourselves, students sit their examinations in familiar surroundings at the BOS and coursework may be marked internally.

In line with our desire for breadth and differentiation, students in Key Stage 4 will study for a minimum of 9 subjects and a maximum of 12.

All students study the following:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Biology, Chemistry and Physics
  • General Studies

Beyond these subjects, students must choose one from each of the following pairs:

  • Geography or Art
  • History or French
  • Economics or ICT
  • PE or Urdu

Urdu is also available, outside normal school hours, for those students wishing to take it.