The Foundation Stage

The curriculum for the Foundation Stage provides a well organised environment which gives the children rich and stimulating experiences. There are opportunities for children to learn through play without making a distinction between ‘play’ and ‘work’; thus enabling the children to get engrossed, work in depth and complete activities.

The Foundation Stage curriculum is organised into six areas of learning known as the stepping stones or early learning goals. These are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Mathematical development
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

These six areas enable the teachers to plan the learning setting that provides a framework for the early years’ curriculum.

Our aim is to provide a happy and secure environment in which all children have a fair opportunity to learn and grow into confident and settled individuals.

Foundation Stage Profile

Throughout the Foundation Stage teachers will be assessing each child’s development in relation to the stepping stones and early learning goals. These assessments are made on the basis of the teacher’s accumulated observations and their detailed knowledge of the child. At the end of the final year of the Foundation Stage, parents receive a Foundation Stage Profile which sums up the progress each child has made.